Trio Voce CD

In A New Light

Trio Voce
Jasmine Lin, violin
Marina Hoover, cello
Patricia Tao, piano

Artist's Website
Trio Voce CD


In A New Light

"Here is a refreshing disc of unhackneyed piano trios, titled In a New Light, played by an extraordinarily refreshing group of young women known collectively as Trio Voce.

"Trio Voce plays with a passionate commitment that is almost overwhelming in its emotionalism. No cookie-cutter players, these, but three ladies who jump into their music-making feet first and with no holds barred!

"I was tremendously impressed by this CD, and think you will be, too. This is truly committed music-making on a level rarely heard nowadays.

--Lynn Rene Bayley, Fanfare Magazine

"Only pleasant surprises lie in wait for auditors of this collection of late-Romantic trios, recorded 10-12 December 2012 at WFMT Studios in Chicago.

"The same artful finesse that marked the Suk and Zemlinsky trios has bestowed an equally grand impression on the Arensky to motivate our desire to hear more of the Trio Voce.

--Gary Lemco, Audiophile Audition

    Alexander von Zemlinsky: Piano Trio in D minor, Op. 3
    1. Allegro ma non troppo
    2. Andante
    3. Allegro
    Josef Suk: Piano Trio in C minor, Op. 2
    4. Allegro
    5. Andante
    6. Vivace
    Anton Arensky: Piano Trio No. 1 in D minor, Op. 32
    7. Allegro moderato
    8. Scherzo
    9. Elegia: Adagio
    10. Finale: Allegro non troppo


"…a fully persuasive, gripping performance."


"…Trio Voce play(s) every bar of the Weinberg for everything it's worth…"


    Mieczyslaw Weinberg: Piano Trio, Op. 24
    1. Préludium und Arie
    2. Toccata
    3. Poem
    4. Finale
    5. Dmitri Shostakovich: Piano Trio No. 1, Op. 8
    Dmitri Shostakovich: Piano Trio, No. 2, Op. 67
    6. Andante
    7. Allegro non troppo
    8. Largo
    9. Allegretto