Cambini CD

Giuseppe Cambini: String Quintets

Serenissima Ensemble

iTunes Link
Amazon Link
This CD is available for download only

    String Quintet, Op. 13, No. 1
    1. Largo
    2. Allegro vivace
    3. Tempo di Polonese
    String Quintet, Op. 13, No. 2
    4. Allegro maestoso
    5. Adagio
    6. Rondo anglaise allegretto smorfioso
    String Quintet, Op. 13, No. 3
    7. Allegro
    8. Poco adagio
    9. Rondo allegretto spiritoso

Giuseppe Cambini, 1746-1825, was an Italian composer and violinist. Born in Livorno, Italy, Cambini arrived in Paris some time before or in 1773, and after one of his symphonies was played at a Concert Spirituel, his music began to be published, quickly building up a body of works of much instrumental music and fourteen operas, only two of which survive complete. He was extremely prolific, writing 82 symphonies concertantes, nine symphonies, seventeen concertos and over 100 string quintets.

Giuseppe Fochesato, a musicologist in northeast Italy, has edited string trios, quartets, and quintets of Italian composers of the 18th and 19th centuries. This CD features his edition of three of the first quintets of Cambini performed by the Serenissima Ensemble.